Read Any Good Books Lately?

A question on a survey I just took gave me pause.

The question: What was the last book you read?

I’m still thinking.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t have time to read books anymore. I used to love reading books. It would be nothing five years ago for me to walk into a bookstore and find a book big enough to be used as a chair boost and take it home and spend a week reading it at my leisure.

I have two filled bookshelves at home and between myself and Sharon we have read just about every book there.

Now, I have books in my drawer here at the office that I have never read but I have been meaning to read. I just don’t have the time .. even during the so-called summer reading season. There are so many good books out there as well – and I am a voracious reader – but again I have so little time sit down and read a book from start to finish.

My life is now about reading magazines, newspapers and the Internet. I try to squeeze in my reading between commercials while I’m on the set. So what do I read? In case you are curious, here’s a list of my daily reading habits: GQ, Golf Digest, Golfweek, Golf, Money, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, New York Times and both Pittsburgh daily papers.

I would like your help. Since I haven’t had the time to read an actual book, please tell me what good books you have read the last year or so. I would love to know what I have been missing and perhaps I will get a chance to sit down and read one.

As for that survey question, I think I have an answer. I found the book “The World is Flat” in my desk and the receipt from the store serves as the bookmark. The receipt is from last fall. The bookmark is on page 35. Great, only 566 pages to go.

( picture courtesy: Engineers Edge )

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

