So Much for Sleeping In On Vacation

I’m not a morning person. Really, I never have been. You would think so given my current occupation as well as the fact that when I was a kid, I delivered newspapers every morning ( yes, where I grew up, the kids actually handled the deliveries ). However, I have never done well getting up early but it’s my job now, so i just accept it and try to embrace it.

So what do I do on vacation, when I do not have to get up and go to work at 3a? I wake up at 4am. So much for sleeping in, but I do have a reason for waking up early today. I’m heading down to Fort Myers to go boating with some friends. Just me. Sharon is working and can’t take time off so I’m heading south and hitting the waters to relax and refocus.

Of course, before I left I flipped on the morning news. I have to tell you it’s a little weird watching the news from home when you are so used to being there. It’s strange watching Demetrius, Jake, Kelly, Mel and Marcie doing the news – and sometimes I feel a little guilty when I’m not there. Then again, I’m not about to give back all this vacation time. I haven’t been able to take time off like this since I left college.

When I’m watching the morning news, I do like to flip around and see what the “bad guys” ( my little nickname for the competition ) are doing at 5 a.m. I never get to see what they are showing since I’m in a studio worrying about our broadcast. While I’m not going to make judgments and say what I think of the other guys, I will say I do respect what they do and I realize just how competitive the A.M. battle is. That’s why I’m even more flattered that people – like you – would choose us. Thanks.

One other confession. I never watch myself on TV. I have never been comfortable seeing myself on camera which probably makes you wonder how I can get any better. I let the consultants come in and tell me what’s right and what’s wrong about my performance. I let you e-mail me and say what you do and don’t like then adjust accordingly. One of these days, I’ll sit down and watch myself, but not now. I know it’s goofy, but consider the source.

It’s 6:15 and I have a plane to catch. There was a story about delays at the airport – which I saw on Channel 4 – so I better get moving.

Blog back at you on Friday.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

