My Hawaiian Adventure … The Final Chapter

While on vacation in the South Pacific for the first time, I made several observations I would like to share with you.

As you can see, we didn’t just eat healthy food and exercise during our stay in Hawaii. We also like to indulge in the local drink menu — and perhaps the tasty thing I tried — was actually called “Blue Hawaiian“.
What do you think is the rage when it comes to food in Hawaii? Sushi? Poi? Would you believe spam? That’s right, spam is the bomb for the residents of the islands .. especially when it’s served as sushi. Take a look at the spam musabi roll I had before one round of golf in Ewa Beach.


It’s a combination of spam, seaweed and rice topped with soy sauce .. and as you can see .. it’s the breakfast of champions. It’s kind of like Hawaiian breakfast burrito. Maybe I can talk the folks at my favorite sushi spots to make a roll for me.

I was surprised to discover just how big Honolulu is. It’s like being in New York or Los Angeles given all the high-rise condos and the multitude of shopping and dining options. But along with the big city feel, there is big city traffic – perhaps the worse I have seen in my life. I promise that I will never complain about parkway traffic after sitting behind cars in midtown Honolulu.

While you see me cruising along the road in Maui, you can’t enjoy such easy driving in Honolulu. Let me given you a sense of how bad it really is. It took less time – a half hour – to fly from Maui to Oahu than it did to drive from the airport to our hotel in Honolulu.

Even as I enjoyed the beaches of Waikiki, Pittsburgh is never far from the picture. The morning after we arrived, I awoke and flipped on the TV around 7am – and the Steelers were playing the Seahawks! ( Keep in mind the six hour time difference ). Also, when we went shopping, any time you passed by a sporting goods store guess who’s jersey was in the display case? That’s right – Troy Polamalu!

When you watch the news in Hawaii, get ready for a real culture shock. The island is laid back .. and so are the broadcasters. Imagine Kelly, Melanie, Demetrius and I wearing floral print shorts and sun dresses while delivering the morning news. Well, in Hawaii, you do not have to imagine. Everybody wears the traditional Hawaiian outfit on the day they call “Aloha Friday”. I guess it’s their version of black and gold Friday.

Until tomorrow, Aloha!

One Response

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

