Mr. Domestic

Marriage is as much as partnership as a relationship. As those of you who are married know, while you do many things together, sometimes you have to split up duties to get things done.

For instance, Sharon handles much of the cooking in our household because I cannot cook and I fear that if I do anything more than boil water for pasta, I’m going to seriously injure myself.
She also picks up the dry cleaning, takes care of Boobaloo’s food in the morning and plans all our travel out town.

So what do I do? Well, being the big TV star in the family doesn’t keep me off the “honey do” list. For me, it’s all about mowing the lawn, taking out the garbage … and other forms of heavy lifting.

But I have also learned to do some domestic chores for the first time in my life. I will admit that before getting married, I was not much for laundry. I would take everything as a bachelor – throw it in a bag – and send it to the cleaners. I didn’t even own a washing machine and, as far as I was concerned, “Tide” was a reference to the football team at the University of Alabama.

Now, I have become the laundry guy in my house … although it took some trial and error before I became adept at washing and drying. First rule I learned? Don’t even try to wash her delicates with my heavy stuff. That’s the easiest way to take a Victoria’s Secret piece and rip it to shreds. I also learned bleach does not work for colors .. and colors run.

Along with the lessons learned, I think I learned a little bit about myself. As a kid, holding a woman’s undergarment in your hand might have been a huge deal and even a moment that would send hormones racing. Now, separating bras and panties from the rest of the wash is a common occurrence.

I actually like doing some housework, although I will admit we hired a woman to clean our house every couple of weeks. Believe me, given our schedules, it’s money well spent and I can’t imagine coming home from covering a story to have to scrub the toilets.

2 Responses

  1. Wonderful website, Kaylene – http://www.iamsport.org/pg/bookmarks/sweetspastor5/read/26178672/what-you-must-know-about-caring-for-your-teeth , you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  2. Quality posts is the important to be a focus for the viewers to pay a
    visit the website, that’s what this website is providing.

Leave a Reply

