When I Grow Up …

You probably know by now that I’m really just a overgrown kid, passionate about PlayStation, playing golf and doing things most mature 30-somethings have grown out of. I guess it’s because I really don’t feel the 39 years I have been around. I don’t feel like a grown-up. I feel like a kid in many ways and that goes for my career as well.

I guess that’s because I grew up wanting to do so many things. As a child, I wanted to a fireman .. and then President. By middle school, my goal was to get paid to be a cartoonist. As I got ready to graduate from college, my focus was on a career in business and marketing. After school, I still wanted to work on Wall Street. Even when I became a local TV sports anchor, I had dreams of becoming a network TV sports broadcaster.

So what about now? What do I want to do when I grow up? Truthfully, I do not know. The job I have now is perhaps the most fun I have ever had while pulling a paycheck – and while I hope I will be able to do this for the next 25 years, I know this won’t last forever. But my dreams don’t involve a new career but rather adding experiences and learning new things so that I can become well rounded as a reporter – and as a person.

In the next few years, I would like to get my MBA. I was accepted to the University of Illinois MBA program in 1990, but chose not to go because I wasn’t ready for grad school. My schedule now allows me to take part time classes .. and I may do that. I would also like to learn a foreign language — other than Spanish which I took in high school.

I also want improve my computer skills. While I’m pretty technically savvy, I could use a little more education. Also, I would like to write a book. Not the great American novel, mind you, but something of consequence. I’m not sure what I would write about but after blogging for so long I think I could write something that would have legs .. and last.

Finally, I want to do something that leaves a mark on the world. I think we all begin to think about our legacies in mid-life. I doubt I will ever do anything that will cause someone to actually cast a statue in my image but I want to leave some sign that I walked the Earth and left the world just a little bit better off than when I arrived.

This is what I want to do when I grow up … if I ever do grow up. I’m getting PlayStation 3 this Christmas so the maturation process might be on hold this winter.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

