Home for the Holidays

Happy Holidays! Hope everyone had a Merry Christmas. Sharon and I spent our holiday back home in Chicago at my parents’ place. On Christmas eve, they hosted a dinner with included my mom’s sisters as well as my brother-in-law and Sharon’s cousin and boyfriend. Here are some the photos from the night:

Here’s the Stockey family ( Andrew, Dad, Mom and Brian )

Sharon with her “sister on her mother’s side”, Maria

The Bey sisters ( Rae, Jean and my mom, Elzabeth )

It was special just to be home with so much family, but the moment that I will always remembered happened later that evening. My Dad showed all of us this DVD which had a film taken back in 1963. It was a two minute clip of my parents – at age 25!

They were just married and my father just got his CPA license ( an amazing a rare fee for a black man in 1963 ). They looked so young and so much in love. My mother was beautiful and my dad looked like a kid. They were in their kitchen preparing dinner and my dad grabbed my mom and started dancing – to what I have no idea since there was no volume. I could see on the TV behind then was President Kennedy speaking. While I have seen many photos of my parents as young people, I had never seen video of the two .. and it struck in a way that made me so happy and a bit tearful at the same time. Tears of joy I guess as my parents approach their 45th wedding anniversary this year.

May the magic of the holiday season touch you the way it touched me on Christmas eve.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

