Getting Plugged In

It’s confession time once again.

I do not pre-read all the scripts before getting on the set in the morning. Now, don’t panic. I do read all the scripts I will be reading during the two-hour broadcast, but I still want to be genuinely surprised by some of the stories in the show. Thus, I don’t read over Kelly Frey’s material and I never read what Ashley DiParlo has for the day’s “Plugged In” report.

In the very short period of time since she joined our morning team, I have grown to love her “Plugged In” reports and look forward to being enlightened every day. I think it’s because in the past year, I have become somewhat of a “tech geek” myself – reading up on the latest gadgets and gizmos due to hit the marketplace. I also like to take a peek inside her blog in case she has some extra tech goodies for me.

We always hear that technology is for the young – and as we get older, it gets harder to learn about the newest phones or digital devices. I think the opposite is true. As we mature, we need to use and stay current with the latest devices because they make this ever more-complicated world much easier.

In the past year I have purchased an iPod as well as an iPod touch with wi-fi, and while I have not bought the latest phone or Blackberry, I know when my contract anniversary kicks in and I get that free upgrade, I’ll know exactly what to buy. I can honestly say that Ashley is able to dig up something that I will find interesting or provide a “wow” factor every morning. It also depresses me to some extent, because I know that whatever I end up buying, she will tell me two weeks later about something better and faster. Such is life in the world of rapidly changing technology.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

