Why Apologize?

I apologize.

It’s one of the more unusual practices in this country. The apology. While Americans are quick to villify those who make mistakes and miscues ( i.e. New England Bill Belichick, Senator Larry Craig, etc ), we somehow have always been swayed by apologies. While this may sound like an exaggeration, it seems to hold true: You can do anything short of murder in this country and be forgiven if you apologize.

But recently, apologies are not what they used to be. Take a look at the apology below.

I’m sorry. I did not mean to offend anyone and I’m so sorry for all the pain that I have caused my friends and family. Please forgive me.

This is not an apology from any one person, but rather a summation of some of the recent please for forgiveness I have heard from public figures. What’s wrong with it? Take another look. Notice the apology lacks one crucial ingredient: The act that led to the confession of guilt. There is not one indication of what the person did to warrant the apology in the first place.

That’s my point. People make mistakes or say the wrong thing. That’s going to happen. That’s life. The problem is when the apologize, they hardly confess to their sins. They say they are sorry for putting their friends and families through so much pain and public humilaition, but they never actually apologize for the act itself.

I’m so done with apologies, unless they are done right. Look, if you have done something wrong, confess to it and be specific and be done with it.

Once again, I’m sorry if I misled anyone or any on my statetments were misconstrued.

I do not want to hear the politically-safe response to your sins. Just own up to it and be honest. However, I trust our next major public apology ( Michelle Obama’s is probably on the way for her admission that she is “proud of America for the first time in her life” ) is going to be another non-apology apology.

Sorry for bending your ear and venting.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

