“You’re not a kid anymore”

Those were the words from my wife’s lips as I laid in bed aching and sweating and getting my butt kicked by the flu. It’s hard enough when you are not feeling well, but when your spouse is telling you that you’re to blame for the mess that you are in because of your non-stop schedule, then you really start to feel bad.

I’m not blaming her. I’m probably responsible for the mess that I’m in. My schedule is non-stop and I’m always on the move. People close to me always tell me to slow down and pace myself but I never listen. I always figure I’ll have time to rest at the end of it all. Well, my thinking has changed after this latest episode.

In case you didn’t notice, I missed the last couple of days on the air. I was home, in bed, recovering from something that seemed to be a combination of the flu, the plague and Montezuma’s revenge. I was sweating, aching, sore and a bit disoriented. It came out of nowhere and it hit me like a hurricane. I haven’t been this incapacitated since I got mono in high school.

Even now, I’m still a little bit under the weather but I’ve survived the worst of it. While I was laid up, I did think about all those people close to me who tell me to slow down – my wife, my parents and even my co-workers – and they are right. As Sharon said, I’m not a kid anymore although I don’t think 40 quite qualifies as old age. I guess I need to realize that it’s OK to say “no” sometimes.

I know one thing for certain. I do not want to feel the way I did the last couple of days. I don’t need to feel like I lost a ten-round bout to the heavyweight champion of the world.

By the way, thanks to everyone who was so patient while I was not blogging the last couple of days. That’s how sick I was … I did not even feel like tapping on the keys.

