Make Sense of the Senseless

I think I can speak for everyone here at WTAE … and probably every journalist in ths country … when I say nothing is harder than reporting a murder.

People die of natural causes all the time – that is the nature and cycle of life. However, when life is snatched away unexpectedly by another person, it is difficult to understand and frightening to hear about. It always takes a little bit out of me when I sit there and tee viewers someone has been shot and killed or that someone was murdered. I always read those stories and quietly ask my “why”. I never have the answer.

This past week there were a spree of killings region-wide and the connection bewteen them was tough to find. Some invoved teens and some involved adults. Some involved men and others took the lives of women. Some took the lives of black people while others snuffed out the lives of white residents. Some were in the heart of the ciy while others were in the subrubs. What’s the common thread? All were senseless.

I’m not writing this to scare you or to try and solve the problem of crime and murder. I don’t have the time to answer the latter. I guess I’m just conveying my frustration and anger that one person would take the life of another. I guess when I look at Pittsburgh, I see a city that should not have the kind of violence that I would expect to see in larger cities on either coast. I guess the truth is that while we see Pittsburgh as paradise, the truth is we are no different from anyplace else and murder is just part of the make-up of our town … a very ugly side.

I guess I just wanted you to know that when I’m on the air telling you about someone being killed, it’s not like any other story I read. It does affect me and it does make me think and it does make me sad. I’m sure you feel the same way as well.

