Stockey Goes Shopping?

Thank goodness Wendy Bell is back! Yesterday was the first day in nearly two months that I did not anchor both the 5am and 5pm broadcasts. In fact, I was done early after shooting this week’s “Test It Tuesday” so I went home and played the role of house husband which included cleaning the garage and finishing up the laundry ( oh the glamorous world of TV ).

I also decided that with the free time I did have I would make a trip to western Pennsylvania’s newest place to shop, the Tanger Outlet at the Meadows in Washington County.

Now if you have learned anything about me during my two-plus years of blogging it’s that I am not a shopper. I don’t like to shop and when I do I like to go in, buy what I need and be out before I am even approached by a salesperson. That’s why yesterday was so unusual.

Tanger Oulet, Washington County: The place I learned to relax and enjoy shopping

I went there expecting large crowds and knowing the only thing I really needed was a new belt. Well, there was no crowd to speak of when I drove in and got that nice close parking space. When I walked into the outdoor mall, I started to really gaze at what was there. There outlets for such brands as Banana Republic, Nike, Adidas, Le Gourmet Chef, Coach, Van Heusen. The list was endless … as were the deals.

There was stuff in there that was 60-70$% off .. and those sales were on things that I wanted and actually needed. I got my belt … as well as dress shirt, cufflinks, a couple of items for a future “Test It Tuesday” and a couple of sauces and marinade. Best of all? I spent less than $100.

Also, the people there so nice … happy to greet you and say “hi” and allow you to browse about without the pressure, something I have discovered in other shopping areas. Now this is not a commercial for Tanger, but since the only outlet mall in this area was Grove City, it’s nice to have one within a half hour of the city of PIttsburgh.

Now don’t expect to see me hitting the malls every day, but I have to admit that shopping is a pleasant experience … when you have choices, the service is good, the deals are abundant … and the price is right.

