Hitting 400

400 is a magic number in baseball. For those of you not familiar with the significance of 400 in baseball lore, that is the magic batting average that for years players have chased and hasn’t been hit reached by a hitter since Ted Williams of the Boston Red Sox finished the season hitting .406.

I have reached this coveted mark in another field: the world of blogging. While it’s not as important as a baseball player hitting 400, for me it means just as much. This past week, I blogged for the 400th time. Thanks to this program, I can see just how many blogs I have written. It’s hard to believe that when I was asked to begin this endeavor in June of 2006, I would have enough to talk about to reach 400 entries.

The desk & keyboard that launches 400 blogs

However, blogging five days a week for nearly 50 weeks a year has allowed me to speak about a variety of topics and take you along for ride. From Pittsburgh sports to politics to the price of a video game, I have written each morning on whatever topic comes to my mind. Each morning, after I get off the set at 7am, I sit down try to coherently type out what’s going through my mind. Sometimes I have made people laugh, other times I have made readers cry but I hope each time I write I make those who read it think.

One thing is certain. You are reading my rantings and ravings. Thanks to this blogging program, I can get a read of how many people are taking a look at my daily entry and anywhere from 600 to 1000 people take the time to read and for that, I thank you. I know you are the greatest reason I keep sharing some of myself with you and there are days I forget that I’m sticking my opinion out there. Sometimes I say what I feel regardless of consequence. This is probably against the rules of journalism.  You know, the rule that says we should not share our biases. I have always felt that while I am a reporter, I am a person first and have feelings and thoughts that I want to share. At the same time, because I have these thoughts it does not mean I cannot do my job in an unbiased manner.

Best of all, I have established relationships with some of the readers who write me back often. They come from various parts of the commonwealth and some from outside the area. They are from all age and demographic groups and while most of them are female, they all feel they can share their thoughts with me … and for that I say thank you.

Sometimes I wonder how much longer can I keep doing this. How much more do I really have to say? Just when I think it’s time to step away from the keyboard, there is something that brings me back. Maybe it’s the fact that I know that through this medium, I have a chance to become part of the larger discussion and perhaps share a different insight with the world. It’s the democracy of blogging.

Once again, thanks for stopping by and thanks for allowing me let you into my private world of thought 400 times. Here’s hoping I will be able to do this at least 400 more times.

