The Case of the Missing Coffee Maker

First, I want to say Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! I have been inundated with e-mails from you wishing me well and all the best on my move to the evenings. I have tried to write back to everyone and that is a big mistake because I have been shirking my new responsibilities tonight trying to write back to all of you. Just know I appreciate your kind words and thoughts more than you can possibly know.

Now, onto the outrage of the day. I’m not gone from the morning show for even a day and look what I find in the mens dressing room:

A new coffee maker. Where did this come from? It’s new, white and barely used. Where is the old coffee maker: the pot that launched one thousand cups with its broken-off spout and its old dusty container. While it wasn’t a pretty coffee maker, it was our coffee maker and it was the first time I learned to make coffee. Soon, I became pretty proficient at not only making coffee, but also pouring out of a pot with no spout.

I began to think Kelly had forgotten me quickly, that she had moved on with not only a new co-anchor, but a new coffee maker. I felt betrayed and angry. Then, Scott Stiller stopped by my desk Monday.

Scott said his wife was at Boscov’s the other day and they were having their going-out-of-business sale and were practically giving away coffee makers. She grabbed a couple and gave one to Scott to take to work. Scott said it worked well and since he was now the new official coffee maker for the morning show, he might as well learn on a new machine.

OK, I feel better now. I know the new coffee maker was just that … and not some way of saying Kelly, Demetrius and Scott had moved on and forgotten about me. Sorry, I guess I got attached to that coffee maker.

