The Holiday Fun Start Early

Walking through the malls, reading the papers and even watching TV it’s difficult to escape the fact that the holiday season is starting. In some stores, the sales have begun. Now I have to admit Christmas shopping is not something I do in November. Heck, I don’t even get to decorating my house until mid-December.

However, there is one thing I don’t mind starting early – and that’s the holiday party season. I love going to parties before and after Christmas, all the way until the New Year. Well, this weekend, Sharon and I attended perhaps the earliest holiday bash we have ever been to.

hvhs-dinner

Sharon and I front of the Christmas tree at the Holiday Ball. She received many nice compliments on her dress which she tells me she got “on sale” in Vancouver.

During the last few years, I have done some volunteer work with Heritage Valley Health Systems ( HVHS ) which runs hospitals in Beaver and Sewickley. Sharon and I have served as honorary chairs of numerous fund-raising events. While we may not live in that area, we do know the importance of a hospital in any community and if there is anything we can do to help, we are certainly willing.

This weekend, we were the invited guests of HVHS CEO Norm Mitry and his lovely wife, Peggy, to attend another HVHS tradition: their holiday ball. Norm tells me they have been doing this for 28 years and the idea behind the event is simple: have a holiday party early enough in the season so that everyone is still in town and can attend.

Ihvhs3

At our table: Kelly Pratte ( the lovely wife of KDKA’s Rob Pratte ), yours truly, Sharon and our gracious hosts, Norm and Peggy Mitry.

It was a wonderful night: dinner, dancing and the silent auction at the Seven Oaks Country Club in Ohioville. It was nice just to attend an event and not have to serve as emcee, although I did read of some auction item winners at evening’s end. A list that included Sharon who decided to bid on the one thing that she says will bring her true happiness: a Wii. We’ll talk about that in another blog.

I took some pics from the night. I thought I would show them to you and let you know I am officially in the yuletide spirit. Don’t worry though, there’s no need to run from me if there is mistletoe nearby. I’m not quite that festive yet.

