A Wii Bit of Fun

I mentioned yesterday that Sharon had won the Wii in a silent auction at a dinner we attended on Saturday night. Now, I had heard about the Wii and most of the talk is about how hard it is to acquire. I heard about parents bribing store owners last holiday season to secure one.

I guess we were lucky. Sharon wanted it so bad that after she made her last bid 5 minutes before the auction closed, she made me stand next to the item and make sure no one else made a bid on it. I felt a little silly but if she had her heart set on it, who was I to say no.  Sharon has one in her office and she says its a great stress reliever.

wii-001

Sharon takes her golf swings on the Wii

We finally got it home Saturday night and I installed it Sunday morning and gave it a try. I have to tell you, it’s one of the coolest things I have ever played. I mean I am a Playstation guy as many of you know, but this Wii was so much fun. It’s like you’re playing tennis or golf, making all the moves and swings. No wonder there is a little strap to put on your hand while you play. I can see now why some people have lost control and either thrown it at the screen or knocked something over in the process.

Best of all, you can create a cartoon version of yourself to play these games. I have to admit, while “virtual Andrew” looks pretty generic “virtual Sharon” really does look like her and seems to play golf like her as well ( I will leave my comment on her golf game there ).

wii-002

Sharon gets ready tee it up on Wii.

If you are going to get a Wii for your child this holiday season, I say go for it and don’t be surprised if you have to go to a charity function to get one. Once again, they are hard to keep in stock.

