A Purchase Well Overdue

Sometimes in life, you don’t get it right on the first try or even the second attempt. Also, sometimes, you don’t get it right over the course of eight years, but I’m proud to say I got it right this weekend.

When I proposed to Sharon nine years ago, I asked her what she wanted in her engagement ring. Let’s face it, I knew little about rings and I wanted to get her what she wanted. She said to me all she wanted was a unique ring, different from all the others.

We went ring shopping at Goldstock’s and found that ring she had been seeking. It wasn’t the biggest, the flashiest or the most expensive, but it was unique and she tells me she loves it to this day. That same day, I bought my wedding ring for the ceremony. I figured it was no big deal and I would just get something I liked and I was comfortable with.

ring-002

Sharon and myself ring shopping on Saturday.

Fast forward to this week. Sharon and I have experienced the highs and lows of marriage – as well as one very bubbly bischon poodle. I have misplaced my ring more than once. She shared with me something that I didn’t know for all these years. She was sad that she had not bought my wedding ring.

In Sharon’s mind, the ring represents something that one partner gives to another. In essence, she felt by not being allowed to buy my wedding ring, she had never physically given part of herself to me. I guess that made sense so we went ring shopping Saturday morning.

We stopped over a Frost & Co. in the Clark building ( I had a gift certificate for a discount and figured if she was going to spend money on me, I was going to make sure she spent the least amount possible ). I was expecting just a simple band of gold and figured that would suffice. Sharon wanted something a bit more. You might say she was looking for something “unique” like hers.

ring-001

I never thought I would be the recipient of a ring shopping trip

The result was a band that will be yellow gold when the order is filled, but with a band around it filled in with three or four little diamonds. Nothing elaborate, but definitely different. She asked me if I liked it and I told her as long as she was happy, I was happy.

The other cool thing? I found out my fingers were the perfect width. I was able to slip on just about all the wedding bands and they were all perfect fits. Our sales person even joked that many I should become a hand model. Flashing back to the “Seinfeld” episode where George Costanza becomes a hand model ( if you can remember that ), I thought I should keep my day job.

