Steeler Nation: Relax!

I was at my desk and, next to me, a co-worker of mine sat down at called up some old Steeler video on YouTube. What did he watch? The final moments of the 1994 AFC Championship game when the Steelers lost to the Chargers in the final minute.

That moment told me all I needed to know about the fatalistic nature of  Steeler nation.

While we are passionate about our team and there maybe no more loyal fans in all of pro football, for some reason Steeler fans start to worry when it comes to this time of year. For that matter, worry seems to be part of the deal.

I cannot tell you how many Steeler fans,  male and female, tell me they are worried: Worried about the Ravens, worried about the ground game, worried about Ben having a bad game and worried about the offensive line. People, we are closing in on double-digit unemployment and we have all lost more than half  the values of  our 401Ks. Worrying about the Steelers chances should be at the bottom of the list.

Then again, I can understand Steeler Nation’s trepidation. After all, after being the team of the 70’s, they couldn’t do diddly in the 1980’s and between 1994 and 2004, they lost the AFC title game four times – all at home. It’s easy to get scared when your team can’t close the deal when they have home field in the game that will earn them a trip to the Super Bowl.

Steeler fans, I implore you, do not worry. The Steelers are the best team in the AFC and have won twice against Baltimore. More than a month ago, in this very space, I picked Pittsburgh to win the AFC and I am not wavering. I feel confident because I’m going on soldi facts and not hunches. I’m using more than a decade covering the Steelers as my inside information.

Be confident … and all will be well. Want something to worry about? Worry about how to get a ticket and a place to stay in Tampa.

