Super Bowl Wednesday

I survived the Super Bowl media day here in Tampa.

While most consider it tame but past media day standards, I saw enough to give me nightmares for the next few days. There was a spanish-language reporter in a red evening dress, another spanish language reporter in a sexy cheerleader outfit interviewing players and yet another spanish-language reporter dressed like Troy Polamalu. It makes me wonder what I’m missing since I can’t get spanish-language TV on my cable system.

There were no really shocking details to come from the day, but there were so many players to talk to in the one-hour session I found very little time to snap photos. I’m hoping to upload some shots once I get to my laptop ( this is being done on my Apple Touch and it’s not easy ).

The weather has been tremendous and Steeler fans are slowly trickling into town. To be honest, the most creative tributes to the team have come from Pittsburgh based fans and not those here in Tampa. I have gotten so many e-mails and pics from fans on my blackberry with poems, songs and pictures like the one below from the Pittsburgh Public Theatre and the cast of “Metamorphoses” now playing at the O’Reilly theatre. Steeler Nation knows no limits.

publictheater_go_steelers1

Steeler Fever hits the Cultural Distrtict: The cast from the show Metamorphoses” creates their own terrible towel to promote their show and support the Steelers!

With jsut four days from kick-off, I realize my work schedule down here has not allowed me to indulge in the tastes of Tampa. I usually get up at 4:45am to be on the morning show with Mike and Kelly at 6am. After that, its out to press conferences and interviews with the players all day. By the time we are done, its off to the team hotel to edit stories and sound bites for the 5pm news, 6pm news and our Steelers report at 7pm … as well as shoot and edit pieces for 11pm and the morning broadcast. My day is usually done by 9pm.

I’m so zonked at that point, I usually go back to my room and order dinner at the hotel and then crash at 10:30pm. I’m not complaining because this is life when you are at the Super Bowl, but I wish I could enjoy more of the experience.

Maybe even get in a round of golf.

As for the game, no predictions yet but after speaking the Arizona Cardinals coaches and players Tuesday I do get the sense that they truly believe they can win this game. They are a confident club just naive enough to not realize what is at stake. A 7-point  underdog, they have nothing to lose.

The other thing I am hearing is that the winning quarterback in this game may punch their ticket to the Hall of Fame. Either Kurt Warner of Ben Roethlisberger will win their second Super Bowl Sunday. Of the previous nine players to pull that off, Roger Staubach, Terry Bradshaw, Bart Starr, John Elway and Troy Aikman are all in the Hall and there’s little doubt three-time winner Tom Brady will soon join them.

I’ll buy the Kurt Warner in the Hall argument because he has taken two teams going nowhere and, in a single season, made them Super Bowl teams. Big Ben? I still think its a little early … but he’s not even 30 and his career is even more impressive and successful than Dan Marino’s.

Once again, thanks for reading … and I’ll upload some photos later today when I get a momemt …. whenever that is.

