Back From Blogging Break … and a Vacation!

It never ceases t0 fail. Every time I leave town on vacation, something big happens in the world of sports.

fort-myers-0031

Sharon tees off at River Hall Golf Club in Fort Myers. We ran into quite a few western Pennsylvanians who now call this area home and live on the course.

So I took a few days off last week and headed south for some sun and fun in Fort Myers. While I am gone, the Pens fire head coach Mike Therrien and name Dan Blysma as their new boss. Then again while I was gone, we also got a new boss here at WTAE. You might have read Alex Bongiorno from South Carolina will be our new news director next month, replacing Bob Longo who had been here the last nine years before moving onto his new post in Orlando.

As for me, I took a blogging break and did what I normally do on vacation: play golf. My wife and myself made what has become an annual pilgrimage to Fort Myers for three rounds of golf, but also to spend time with our “family”. That family is the LaPlantes. Bill LaPlante is my friend and my agent ( yes, I actually do have an agent but it’s not like in Hollywood where he’s calling me with multi-million dollars offers or anything like that.

fort-myers-more-001

Sharon tees off on the 6th hole at Magnolia Landing. A par 4 surrounded by water

Bill and I first met back in 1992. At the time, I was just in my second year at my first job in Hartford and he was still building his client base. We would meet at his office inside his home in the small town of Burlington, Connecticut. Not far from my hometown of Simsbury. Bill has helped me become a better broadcaster because he is a former network TV producer who has shown me some of the best and worst of what he has seen in his years  of TV.

fort-myers-001

My agent Bill LaPlante and myself outside the Super Bowl in Tampa.

Over the years, Bill and I have become very good friends … and have gotten to know each others families. His wife, Thea and my wife, Sharon, have become close and we have watched as their children ( Lauren and Guy ) have grown from elementary school students to adulthood … making their father a grandfather. Each year, we try to spend a few weeks with the LaPlantes. Whether its golfing, boating or just hanging out, they have been like family to me.

Back to the links now. Sharon and I played a couple of courses and tried to knock off the rust from a winter of not playing.We didn’t play too bad. Then again, we were just happy to be out in the sun and be able to wear shorts. For me, it was a welcome respite because I did not really get a chance to enjoy any outdoor activity at the Super Bowl. In fact, the only time I had four hours to sit outside was game night.

 fort-myers-more-002

Sticking the flag in at the 18th green following the final hole of our vacation at Magnolia Landing Golf Club in North Fort Myers

Just wanted to apologize for the long blogging break but I’m back … and ready to start writing. Thanks for checking in!

