Is Rush Right?

I know I’m going to get some heat for this … but here goes.

Driving around in my car Saturday, I caught radio talk show Rush Limbaugh’s address to the Conservative Political Action Conference in Washington D.C. Now I normally don’t listen to Rush ( or political talk show hosts for that matter ), but this address captured my attention.

There had been so much said in advance of it and many see Rush as the leader of the conservative movement in this country. Plus, with this part of the political spectrum so opposed to Obama’s plan, I thought it was worth taking a listen … and I have to admit I was surprised.

Stay with me here. If you actually LISTEN to what the man is saying and forget about both the audience and the applause, there are parts that make total sense. Let me give you an example. How many of you want the government taking care of you? Wouldn’t you prefer that you make your own success and not depend on governmental assistance? Wouldn’t you prefer not to have to bail out company’s and homeowners for their own greed when you played by the rules and built your nest egg within the letter fo the law. Of course you would. That’s seems to be the point being made during much of Rush’s speech.

rush-cpac

Rush Limbaugh’s address to CPAC on Saturday. 

As for his statement about WANTING President Obama to fail, why wouldn’t he? Why wouldn’t anyone who opposes the President’s policies. Didn’t Democrats want the same thing during the Bush years? Rush is saying that if Obama fails, the Republicans will get their chance to lead once again. Only he is saying it because he’s not running for political office or currently holds and elected position.

That being said, while Limbaugh delivered the kind of flash and style not seen since … since Barack Obama last Tuesday before  a joint session of Congress … he did not really offer any options. Sure, he did a great job spelling out what conservatism means and what conservatives want, but give me a 10-step alternative to get us out of this mess. That is what I am looking for, regardless of ideology.

Here’s an idea: How about a debate between Limbaugh and Obama. Just from the oratory skills on display, I think it would be compelling television and theatre. On a more practical note, I think such a debate would bring out the best in both sides and perhaps give us something we are sorely lacking in facing this fiscal crisis: a true bi-partisan plan.

