Marathon Man

Sorry to everyone for not blogging recently. I have been so busy Tweeting and Facebooking that I haven’t had time to just sit and write.

Tonight, I do because I have something to write about. It’s one of those challenges that comes along in life. Not one you have to accept, but one you know you will regret if you don’t.

The Pittsburgh Marathon this Sunday. 26.2 miles.

I have blogged in past months about my passion for running. It started last February as a way to deal with life and its challenges. It evolved into a lifestyle. I soon found myself reading Runners World and buying new shoes every 300 miles. I now have a closet of almost-like-new shoes. I did five half-marathons ( 13.1 miles ) in the last 12 months, but this will be different.

I have not trained like a crazy man for this race. The most I have run prior to Sunday will be 15 miles. My goal, though I tell everyone who asks is four hours 30 minutes, is just to finish. I know I will likely not be able to do this in future years and half marathons are perfect for me. I want to do this because I want to prove to myself that I can.

Perhaps nothing inspired me more to go to the full distance than when I was waiting for friends to cross the finish line at lats month’s Georgia marathon. It’s not world-class athletes coming through the tape at 5 hours, 30 minutes. There are people I know that I am faster than, in better shape than and younger than. These are people who wanted to take this odyssey at ages 50, 60 and 70. These are people who wanted to do something because they knew it would take a singular determination and drive. These are people who wanted to beat themselves and father time.

They have inspired me. If they can do it, why can’t I? I may not sprint across the finish … or even walk, but I will finish and I will get not only a medal but a sense of satisfaction few things in life can provide.

You can follow me on Twitter if you like …. or just wave to me as I run through your neighborhood. All support is welcome in this the loneliest of life’s challenges.

