Talking with You

You might have noticed that I’m not blogging as much as I used to.

It’s not because I don’t enjoy it. Frankly, I’ve been so busy I haven’t had time and sometimes its hard to come up with interesting or inspiring commentary ( call it writer’s block ). However, the biggest reason for a lack of blogging is an overabundance of Facebooking.

Not so much my own page, but our WTAE Facebook Fan page. It’s become quite a popular site. We are now up to 18,700+ fans, most of them from western Pennsylvania. The page allows people to get linked to the latest information and video from our website, thepittsburghchannel.com. It also allows viewers to talk to us … us to talk to them.

In my opinion, this is the most important part of the site. Each night, I have the Facebook page up and running on my laptop at the anchor desk … along with my show information and the latest websites. I not only like to see what people are saying during the show, but I encourage them to talk with us directly.

Our business was once the one-way street: Broadcasters delivering the information and viewers accepting it. Now, it’s a two-way street. We want to hear what’s important to you and what’s on your mind and how we can help you. In turn, you have delivered opinions, ideas and story tips. If anything I think it’s a chance for us to really get closer to you and for us to become a valuable and important part of your life.

Like everything, you get some comments and conversations that are more interesting than others. Last week, I posted a comment starting with “Happy Cinco De Mayo”. By the end of the thread, it had turned into a heated discussion over immigration. What that tells me is that people have that topic on their minds.

Just want to let you know that we appreciate your comments on the WTAE Facebook fan page and I encourage you speak out … as well as take the time to see what your neighbors as saying as well.

For the record, I’m still blogging.

