Walking With Purpose

Once again, my apologies for not blogging lately. While I am an active  Twitter and Facebook user, there is still something simple and powerful about writing … especially when you have something to write about. Something like this past Sunday night.

Joining staff of Family Hospice and Palliative Care as we lead the Memorial Walk on the Southside

I spend a portion of my weekend trying to give back. Whether it’s through volunteering, serving as an emcee or throwing out the ball at a little league game, I feel we should all do something to help make the place we call home a better place. This Sunday, I was at South Side Works, serving as emcee for the Family Hospice and Palliative Care Memorial Walk.

“Hospice” is something I’m sure most of us would rather not think about, but for those facing mortality, it is vital to help them and their loved ones get through these final emotional days with dignity, love and hopefully pain-free. I have worked with this organization for four years, serving as emcee of various events they host. However, this walk was different.

As dusk falls on the Southside Sunday, talking with family members taking part in the memorial walk

With 600 people, all in blue shirts, we walked a mile plus on the trail along the Southside. Along the trail were luminaries with the names of people who had passed on and spent their final days and weeks with Family Hospice. Walking the trail were hospice employees and volunteers as well as family members.

I started the walk with the executive staff of Family Hospice, but soon dropped back to greet the walkers and hear their stories. Most had recently lost loved ones but all were grateful for the service and help of Family Hospice. Their grief was mixed with the knowledge that thanks to this organization, those last few weeks were as pleasant as possible and positive as could be.

               Serving as emcee for the kick-off of the Family Hospice and Palliative Care Memorial Walk

It never fails that when I leave an event that I have hosted, I think about those who have benefitted. On this beautiful Sunday night, I met those who were the beneficiaries. It made gave me that good feeling, perhaps a selfish feeling, that I had helped in some small way. I hope you will take the time to enjoy that special feeling and give back.

