Confession Session

 I remember when I was a kid and I did wrong. Whether it be break a window, getting into a fight at school or get bad grades, there was nothing worse than having to explain to mom and dad. Sometimes that was worse than the misdeed itself.

That brings me to the case of Colts punter Pat McAfee.  If you remember a few weeks ago, McAfee was arrested in Indianapolis for public intoxication. Wednesday, McAfee apologized to the media for his drunken episode …. for three minutes. In his first public comments, he called the episode embarrassing  and promised he would never do it again. He used that term “embarrassing” nine times in the three minute span.

The reason the episode drew my attention is because McAfee played his high school ball at Plum and college football at West Virginia. I remember him from my sports reporter days. While I didn’t know him personally, I got the idea he is still close to his family and friends here. He was suspended by the Colts for one game for his actions. So where did McAfee show up during his suspension week? He was on the sidelines at Plum High School.

Indianapolis Colts punter Pat McAfee ( AP Photo )

He also discussed the most embarrassing part of the whole fiasco. McAfee said it was humiliating having to explain what happened to his mom who he says raised him to be an “outstanding citizen”. Just imagine the conversation as this NFL player had to explain to his mother what he was doing in the middle of the night drunk and wading inside the Indianapolis city canal.

Parents have a way of turning us into our own worst critics when we make mistake. Its never the punishment for the mistake upsets us as much as what our mom and dad will think. I’m still that way. I’m sure time back home in western Pennsylvania has made him see the errors of  his ways. He sounded truly sorry for what he had done, knowing he had embarrassed not only himself but also his family. Hopefully, the memory of his mother’s reaction to the news will serve as  punishment enough.

