Braving Black Friday

If you haven’;t guesses from my banter with Wendy and Michelle, I’m not much of a shopper. In fact, Wendy referred to me as “full price”. Funny, but nothing could be further from the truth. I am very much cost-conscious shopper,. From the clothes I wear to the food I eat, I have begun trying to save and earn discounts when and where I can. That includes braving the greatest saving experience in the world of shopping: Black Friday.

However, instead of going to the local mall to see what the experience was like, I journeyed into my parents home of Chicago and brave the greatest single shopping stretch in the midwest: Michigan Avenue. Better known as the “Miracle Mile”. On this strip of ten blocks is every store known to man, H&M, Hugo Boss, Disney, Nieman Marcus, Nordstrom. You name it. It’s there.

The unique view of downtown Chicago from the “big egg” in Grant Park.  A peaceful place in a chaotic Black Friday in the Windy City.

I got there late in the shopping day, noon, but noticed the see of people crowding the sidewalks. There was virtually no store that wasn’t filled with long lines waiting for the cash register. There were people not only shopping, but more important to the economy they were spending. I keep hearing about difficult economic times but I couldn’t tell judging by the way people were whipping out the plastic … and carrying bags of goodies out of stores.

As for me, what began as a gung-ho trip in search of bargains turned into being overwhelmed by all the choices. I bought a couple of clothing items but truthfully, between all the “sale” signs and the massive amounts of people, it turned into shopping overload. The biggest savings I enjoyed all weekend I did while I was on the train headed into the city. I bought three dress shirts on-line from an English company. They usually go for $100 each. I got all three for $100.

Who says I don’t look for bargains? Take that Wendy and Michelle.

